It is currently Sun May 26, 2019 8:09 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Admonition/Watcher/etc and charges
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:28 am 
Offline
User avatar
 Profile

Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:45 am
Posts: 812
Location: Evansville, WI
If you charge a target and trigger an admonition or watcher movement, and the model uses that movement to leave your melee range, is it a failed charge?

I had always played it as you move your charger, you resolve all of the end of movement shenanigans (counter charge, admonition, watcher, defensive strike, etc..), THEN you check melee range to see if the charge was successful. But a PP forumite pointed me to Prime p47 where it only says that if the charging model ends its movement within melee range then it is successful.

I feel like I've read this somewhere, a faq or some other page, but for the life of me I can't recall.

-Rick


Top
 

 Post subject: Re: Admonition/Watcher/etc and charges
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2012 3:54 am 
Offline
 Profile

Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:00 am
Posts: 410
Location: Purgatory
ThatRickGuy wrote:
If you charge a target and trigger an admonition or watcher movement, and the model uses that movement to leave your melee range, is it a failed charge?

I had always played it as you move your charger, you resolve all of the end of movement shenanigans (counter charge, admonition, watcher, defensive strike, etc..), THEN you check melee range to see if the charge was successful. But a PP forumite pointed me to Prime p47 where it only says that if the charging model ends its movement within melee range then it is successful.

I feel like I've read this somewhere, a faq or some other page, but for the life of me I can't recall.

-Rick


You check successful / failed charge first thing when you stop moving (since you are obliged to continue moving until you get there or can't move more), which happens before Watcher or Admonition have a chance to check their triggering conditions. If you charge an admonitioned target, and then they admonition, you ended your movement with them in melee range (otherwise Admonition would not have had a chance to trigger), and the charge is successful. It's unlikely you get to attack, as they move before the attacks happen, and can oft escape, but you can finish out your activation as normal, though initial attack will be without a boost since it not a charge any more unless its at your charge target (i.e unable to flee, blocked in, etc).

_________________
Marshall


Top
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group  
Design By Poker Bandits     
Updated By Kieron Thwaites (Ron2K)